Skip to main content

Brisbane Service Hub

Brisbane Hub: Learning Support

Fabi

Learning Support

Learning Support

Your education is important to us on Brisbane campus, which is why we provide a number of learning support services to help you with your studies.

Learning Support

CLASS
(the Centre for Learning and Academic Skills Support)


Brisbane Campus offers a range academic support services including academic skills tutorials and one-on-one appointments with Program Managers.


Academic Skills

CLASS is designed to help you communicate effectively through your academic skills. Each week you will work on a different skill e.g. referencing in Week 3 and report writing in Week 4

Click here for the Trimester 1, 2016 Academic and Library Skills Workshop Schedule 


Private Appointments

Individual appointments are available to discuss any academic aspects of our course that may concern you. You can also bring in assignments for feedback before submission.

Sessions are available on Mondays and Tuesdays and appointment can be made with Student Services or by email to Fabi.

Note:  Please inform Fabi or Student Services beforehand if you have to cancel an appointment.  

In these sessions, you will be able to get help with:

  • essay planning
  • referencing
  • academic writing
  • assessment structure and tips


Academic skills on Blackboard

Build your academic writing, critical thinking, referencing and other academic skills on Blackboard. This will be available to you once you have enrolled in your subjects for the study period.

 

Learning & Academic Skills Lecturer


Fabi Ramos

   framos@laureate.net.au

Academic appointments

Academic or support appointments with Program Managers are available by request. In these appointments you can get advice and guidance on academic issues and advice on your pathway and progression through your course. 

You can arrange an appointment by emailing your Program Manager directly.
 

Neville Hartley (Acting)

  nhartley@laureate.net.au

 

Carmen Perkins

  cperkins@laureate.net.au

  

Business Management

Cary Budd

  cbudd@laureate.net.au


Marketing & Public Relations

Catherine Bouchier

  cbouchier@laureate.net.au


Event Management

Jeannie Wang

  jwang@laureate.net.au

 

Hospitality Management

Kirsten Browne

  kbrowne@laureate.net.au


Tourism Management

Kirsten Browne

  kbrowne@laureate.net.au

Branded Fashion

Jaki Walker

  jwalker@laureate.net.au


Communication Design

Ali Kerr

  akerr@laureate.net.au

 
Digital Media

Ali Kerr

  akerr@laureate.net.au


Interior Design (Commercial & Residential)

Bernie Thompson

  bthompson@laureate.net.au

 

Graphic Design

Ali Kerr

  akerr@laureate.net.au

 
Interior Design & Decoration

Andrea Gonzalez

  agonzalez@laureate.net.au


Photo Imaging

Richard Whitfield

  rwhitfield@laureate.net.au

 

 

Learning Portal

Blackboard is your Brisbane campus Learning Portal. Through Blackboard you can access all of your course information including subject outlines, readings and online assessment submissions. To login to Blackboard simply click the ‘Learning Portal’ link on the left side menu here on the Brisbane Student Hub. 

Learning with Technology is another useful space that will help you learn how to navigate Blackboard. You can find the link on your Blackboard home page under the 'My Organisations' heading.

FAQ

To help you get answers, instructions and solutions you need faster, we’ve also compiled a comprehensive Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) resource you can use.

Loading